Recipe for Chewy Brownies with Fudge-Like Frosting

I’m almost positive that not a day goes by that I don’t think about my mom, who passed away almost 15 years ago.  But I especially think about her during the holidays, since she made such a big deal out of them!

So here is her recipe for brownies, which never fail to get rave reviews like, “This is the best brownie I’ve ever had!”

BROWNIES

1 ½ sticks butter
3 squares unsweetened baking chocolate
2 cups sugar
3 eggs, beaten
2 t. vanilla
Dash salt
1 cup flour

Melt butter and chocolate in large saucepan, stirring constantly (to keep chocolate from burning).  Remove from heat and stir in sugar, eggs, vanilla and salt, and then flour.  Spread in a 9×13 greased pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  (The brownies should still feel soft when you take them out!)

FROSTING

Melt ½ stick butter and 2 squares of unsweetened baking chocolate in large saucepan.  Remove from heat, and beat in (with mixer) 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 t. vanilla, and enough milk to make it glossy and spreadable.  QUICKLY spread frosting onto cooled brownies, and when it cools, it will be like fudge!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you! What a blessing that you have your mom’s recipes to help you remember her love.

    Reply

    • Yes; every time I cook or bake, I remember what she told me about that particular recipe! I hope my kids have the same memories of me, except my lessons all start with, “My mom always said…” 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy Lewis on November 20, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    These look and sound so good. I am ready to try a new recipe after having used the same one for the last 35 years! The most memorable thing I remember my mom making for us was Pillsbury Crescent Rolls! But she was always in the kitchen or doing laundry and I miss how well she took care of me.

    Reply

    • Aren’t moms great? 🙂
      And just between you and me, I discovered a while back that my mom’s recipe is the same as the recipe on the inside of the semi-sweet baking chocolate box. But I figured, who every buys semi-sweet baking chocolate squares?

      Reply

  3. Posted by Sarah on January 27, 2012 at 2:11 am

    just made these brownies for an event! quite possibly one of the best desserts I have ever tasted! thank you for sharing such a wonderful easy recipe!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Maddy on July 25, 2012 at 12:43 am

    Making these for a friend who just got out of surgery! They look great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

