A Super Simple Breakfast or Lunch

BUT…you need leftover pancakes.  Our family makes dozens of pancakes every Saturday, and SOMETIMES we have leftovers.

A really simple way to serve them again is to make what I call “Pancake Bake.”  I cut up all the pancakes into bite size pieces (several at a time), put them in a crock pot, drizzle some butter over the top (or chunks of softened butter), heat it up on low for awhile, then serve it with syrup.  This way, you don’t need to divide up any leftover pancakes OR do any cutting for small children when it’s time to eat!  🙂

 

14 responses to this post.

  1. What a simple, great idea! What crockpot do you recommend? The one I bought about a decade ago has always burnt the food (yes, burnt!), so I have been very wary of buying any crockpots since.

    Reply

    • I have a Hamilton Beach “Stay or Go.” I like it because if we decide to have a picnic at the last minute, I can throw our hot food into the crock pot (if it wasn’t there already), and the handles have clasps that hold the lid in place. (If the crock pot it hot, it will STAY hot for a long time without power if you keep it in the base.)

      Reply

      • Thanks very much for the info. Another difficulty I’ve had with crock pots is just dealing with the size: They typically are only 6 or 8 qts. That was okay when my kids were little, but now I have voracious teenagers. How do you deal with this? I think your children are still small, but you have a happily-large number of them. 🙂

      • Suzaane, how many teenagers do you have? We don’t have that problem yet; a full crock pot still feeds our family, with our oldest being 13. We have the regular size (not sure how many quarts), but I think I’ve seen bigger ones. We might be in trouble when we have almost all teenagers! (Two crock pots?)

  2. My first crock pot burned food, too! I had no idea it could be a useful type of thing until a few years ago (when I got a nice new big crockpot!). I think we have a 6 or 8 quart crockpot and it is still big enough for us – we have have 2 teens, 2 preteens, 3 elementary, 2 preschoolers and a baby (plus parents). It really didn’t occur to me that it might get too small as we always have leftovers so far (I do fill that thing full!). I think if we have to deal with really huge recipes, I”ll be getting more organized and switching to industrial half-sheet sized pan casseroles or something. They must make those, right?

    Reply

  3. Maybe full sheet pans!

    Reply

    • I think I’ve seen those; they take up a whole rack in the oven, right? I was just wondering about those today, since a 9×13 casserole dish of something is often not enough anymore!

      Reply

  4. We have only 4 children, two are teenagers; but one of the teenagers is a girl who has finished growing, so it is the boy who eats like crazy. He is only 15, already 6 feet tall or taller, and not an ounce of fat on him. In other words, he is eating because he is growing, not because of gluttony. The younger boys are 12 and 9, so they have not hit their peak growth yet.

    My problem with the size of the crock pot is that it seems big enough to put a large roast in, but not a full 5-lb. bag of potatoes, plus carrots and whatever else. Mostly, there seems only enough room for the meat these days. And my imagination for what to make in a crock pot is limited. I would appreciate ideas!!! However, because of allergies, we can’t do anything with wheat or corn (including cornstarch). Some non-meat ideas would be nice, too, because on Wednesdays and Fridays we fast from meat.

    Thank you very much for your help.

    And Sara, it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who was scared off by a burning crock pot. 🙂

    Reply

    • You’re right; a roast and vegetables will not fit! I either use my regular roasting pan and put it in the oven at 300 degrees, or I use my electric roaster if I’m having company. (It’s big enough to make two roasts w/ veggies…they’re often on sale during the holidays.)

      I found out recently that I am gluten-intolerant, but since I’m the only one in my family (that we know about), I’m just abstaining from those foods rather than changing the whole menu. I’ll think about it, though! (Is it just wheat and corn, or is it ALL gluten?)

      Reply

  5. I don’t try to put everything in the crockpot – I’ve done it (roast and potatoes and carrots etc) but I don’t like how mushy it gets anyway. If we do meat and sauce in the pot I do sides later and in the oven or on the stove. Or I’ll do a big sauce type dish and serve it on rice (made in a rice cooker). Soups I usually make on the stove, except I do have a crockpot beef stew I really like. I probably don’t use the crockpot nearly as much as many other people. Partly this is because I have LESS time to cook in the morning (many small children plus homeschooling) and more time to cook in the late afternoon (older kids done studying to play with younger kids) plus we eat late (usually 7pm or even 7:30pm). Definitely look to Debbie for cooking ideas – I’m a functional cook rather than a lover of cooking. I’ve joked with my family that if I lived alone, I’d just live on oatmeal and yogurt and always have a clean kitchen! 🙂

    Reply

    • Ha! Can you even IMAGINE living alone? One day alone sounds glorious, but not more than that! I don’t even know how to cook for one person! (All of my pots and pans will be really “cute”!)

      Reply

      • Um, I don’t think I can actually imagine that. I haven’t even been alone in my house for years, even for an hour (other than kids being outside in our yard). But if I did get a day alone – for sure I would not spend it cooking…or cleaning…or doing anything practical! I remember one time when Grace was very little (3 or so), I believe I was expecting Lydia at the time. Someone took little Gracie for the day and I was literally paralyzed trying to decide what to do with the time! I think I ended up taking a nap. 🙂

      • Should I take your kids for a day? (I’m kind of joking–…Although I WOULD if you really wanted me to!)

    • Sara, I think I could live on yogurt and oatmeal for a long while, too. I used to love to cook and experiment, but these days, I’m mostly tired and wishing someone else would. The teenagers do know how to cook, but their schedules lately make it difficult to lay the burden of a whole meal upon them. Hope you get some relief soon. Everyone needs an occasional “oxygen mask,” like the kind on airplanes: put on the adult’s mask first, so the children can be adequately helped.

      Thanks, both Debbie and Sara, for your meal ideas. I really, really appreciate it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

