Oatmeal Bake recipe to prepare the night before for a simple breakfast

We aren’t a cold cereal family (at least, we try not to be), so it’s one of my goals to prepare part of our breakfast the night before so I can just quickly mix it together and stick it in the oven.

Here is my recipe for oatmeal bake that I prepare the night before.  You will notice that I “soak” the oatmeal in a honey mixture overnight.  This not only makes a softer and more moist product, but it’s actually more healthy, too!

The night before…(this takes about three minutes; I just timed it.)

In a large mixing bowl, mix together …

2 cups oatmeal
About a tablespoon of lemon juice (I don’t measure)
1/2 cup honey (I don’t measure this, either)
Enough water to make a pancake-battter-like consistency

This next part you can mix together the night before and put it in the refrigerator OR just add it the next morning.

Mix together…
3 beaten eggs
1 stick of butter, melted

Add the next part RIGHT BEFORE baking…
1/2 c white flour
1 1/2 teaspoon sea salt (less if you use table salt)
1 tablespoon baking powder
Lots of cinnamon (5-7 dashes)
Lots of nutmeg (2-3 dashes)
Vanilla – about 1 teaspoon
AND enough milk to make a cake-batter-like consistency

Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.  We serve it with real maple syrup drizzled over each piece.  Serves 8-12.

Note:  I just heard from a friend that you can buy gluten-free oatmeal, so this would work for a gluten-free diet if you used rice flour instead of the wheat (which I have done.)

5 responses to this post.

  1. This is just what I needed. Thank you! Breakfasts and lunches are my difficulty. (I used to serve leftovers for lunches, but now my kids are big enough that I often don’t have leftovers.)

    So, if you would care to share additional breakfast and lunch ideas, I would love that!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Patty Broberg on October 5, 2011 at 9:47 am

    Thanks! I just have a question… when you mix the butter and eggs the night before, do you add them to the oatmeal mixture? Or keep them separate? And if you do it either way ahead of time, doesn’t the butter harden it so that you would have to melt it again before adding the flour, etc., and wouldn’t that cook the eggs? (High maintenance here… sorry!)

    Reply

    • Sorry this took so long; I just found your comment now!

      Good question! I don’t add the eggs because I let the oatmeal sit out all night. And yes, I also don’t add the melted butter to the eggs because it would be hard. So I just melt the butter first thing in the morning and dump everything into the oatmeal mixture.

      Reply

      • Posted by Patty B. on February 22, 2012 at 9:09 pm

        Thanks! This is actually good timing — reminds me to try the “night before” thing! : )

  3. I’ll see what I can do! I know what you mean about the no leftovers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

