School-in-the-Afternoon Update

We did school in the afternoon today, according to my little experiment, and I loved it!  I felt so good to get real work done in the morning, and then really be able to focus on the kids in the afternoon.  And I didn’t even get tired, maybe because doing physical labor in the morning is less stressful than doing school with seven kids!  (Okay, Foster’s too little, but he still needs my attention!)  And it seems like if there are going to be emergencies, they tend to happen in the morning, which can derail my best-laid plans.  (Emergencies like, “Oh, my goodness, I forgot to call ____!”  Or, “That is due today?!  That means I have to do it now!”)  Now, I do have a tendency to like change, so we’ll see if I still like it in a week or month!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like a great start! I especially like the part where you “didn’t even get tired!” 🙂

    Reply

    • Thanks, Sara! Also, I wanted to resond to your previous comment, but we were leaving to go out of town, and I haven’t had time to “catch up” yet. Your words were encouraging, as usual!

      Reply

  2. I have a friend that home school’s in the afternoon, and she LOVES it. She isn’t a morning person, and so doing school this way allows her to work at her peak!! Best wishes with your school year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

