Slight Change of Course to Deal With My Thyroid

I haven’t written recently, nor do I feel like I’ve done much of anything recently because I’ve been so tired!  (I took two naps today, and no, I’m not pregnant. 🙂 )  I’m not decluttering OR doing school, and even getting on my computer isn’t as interesting anymore.  I have felt more hypothyroid than normal lately (I’ve had it for eight years), but I have hope for the future, and here’s why…

A few weeks ago, I attended a workshop about the OTHER reasons a person may have hypothyroid symptoms, other than their thyroid.  (There’s a long list of symptoms, so I’ll just say they all leave you feeling tired and blah.  Your thyroid hormone is what makes everything else work properly, and I’m not kidding.)   I learned that the number one cause of hypothyroid in the U.S.  is Hashimoto’s, or autoimmune thyroiditis, where the body’s immune system is attacking its own thyroid.  It’s also commonly caused by pregnancy.  Hmm.  I’m 99% sure I have it.

The problem is, while thyroid replacement can help you feel better for a while, it doesn’t actually solve the problem, and the immune system often goes on to attack other areas of the body, like the liver, adrenals, brain and heart.  I know my adrenals are already shot because I can’t handle any stress whatsoever, and I think my brain is on its way down, too.  So…I just had my first appointment yesterday with the doctor who led the workshop, and on Thursday I will find out his prognosis (and how expensive it’s going to be!) 

I already know that I’m in for some dietary changes, as all autoimmune thyroiditis people are allergic to gluten.  Sugar, also, is a huge problem (for everyone, actually, but especially for hypothyroid people.)  I’ll have to do an elimination/provocation diet, and maybe a detox diet.  And the coffee has got to go.  (Sniff)  My children already say that I live on practically nothing, so now it’s going to be REALLY nothing! 🙂  Not really.  I’m sure I can eat salad—with special dressing and no cheese.

2 responses to this post.

  1. A friend encouraged me to look up your blog, and I am so glad I did! Thank you for writing on so many topics related to, as you so aptly put it, simple diligence.

    I’d also like to learn more about this autoimmune thyroiditis that you discussed in this post.

    Reply

    • I’m glad you like it!

      I, too, am still learning about Hashimoto’s; I just had a blood test for it, which was actually negative, but I’ve read that one negative blood test is not enough to rule it out, since the antibodies are not consistent. (Sigh) A very helpful book and website is “Stop the Thyroid Madness.” I’m using its information when talking to my MD…we’ll see how much help I get!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

