Parenting Reminder to Self…

I’m really liking this book, as it’s a good reminder of things I should already know…

“Even though our children cannot and will not obey God’s law, we need to teach it to them again and again.  And when they tell us that they can’t love God or others in this way, we are not to argue with them.  We are to agree with them and tell them of their need for a Savior. 

“The promises of life for obedience are not meant to build our self-confidence.  They’re meant to make us long for obedience and then, when we fail again, they’re meant to crush us and drive us to Christ.”  (From Give Them Grace, by Fitzpatrick and Thompson)

How often do I look for a quick fix to sibling squabbles so I can get back to what I was doing instead of taking time to speak to them about their hearts?  Too often!  I need this for myself!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vicki Christiansen on July 11, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Hi, Debbie! We just spent a week at the cabin, and I was reading this book during that time, as were you at home! I’ve been thinking at all the times I’ve gone “wrong” with my discipline, and how God is so gracious as to bring it to my attention. He’s got a plan for your kids and mine, and we as mothers play a role in their education about Him. It’s got me thinking and praying about what my part is, and the Holy Spirit’s part in their salvation. This book is a huge gift!! Vicki

    Reply

  2. I’ve heard about that book all over the place lately. It’s on my Amazon Wish List right now. 🙂 Thanks for this post. It’s quite convicting. I shared it with my readers over at my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

