“Spring Cleaning” Year-round Versus . . . Never?

For July 4th, we were at a friend’s home, and their home inpsired me to DECLUTTER!  (Now they DID just move into a larger house, but their former, smaller house was just as neat and uncluttered.)  The hostess might be proud of me for spending almost the entire day yesterday straightening, throwing and giving things away, and re-evaluating where we put things.  And I even managed to spend my obligatory five minutes on my closet, which is getting more organized and less full every day!

When I asked the hostess when she had time to go through her house and declutter, she gave me a very confused look, as if I had asked her when she takes time to breathe.  After talking awhile I realized that she and I have a different housekeeping mindset, and I want to be more like her.  My mindset has been:  Keep up with the main/basic cleaning and straightening, and then have other times set aside for decluttering areas like closets, storage room, laundry room, cabinets, etc.  But this is not working!  I don’t HAVE any other time–at least, that’s not how I want to spend my precious little “free time” in the afternoons. 

So this is my theory about what my friend does, and she can comment if I’m wrong:  The things that she has on her “list” or in her “routine” (which are probably very similar to mine) take longer than mine do because she takes time do clean up and declutter as she goes.  My guess is that when she sees a mess in the laundry room, she doesn’t say, “I’ll have to remember to clean that up sometime this week because I’m already behind schedule today.”  She probably just cleans it up! 

So…my house is looking much nicer, even after only a day and a half of decluttering.  BUT…I’ve done no academics with the kids, even though we’re “supposed to” (as in, that was my plan before July 4th!)  I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to do both!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joanne miracle on July 6, 2011 at 11:57 am

    maybe you can have you children help you out. At first, when you teach them how to declutter it might take a bit longer than you would like. However, once they learn how to do it they can do it on their own and that will free up time for everyone. Good luck!!!

    Reply

    • Yes, they do help me out a little, but they could probably help more! We do what I call a “walk-thru” where we all walk through the house and I point out things that need to be put away, and the next person in line does it. However, a lot of the clutter is mine! I have convinced myself that I am “too busy” (with homeschooling or whatever) to deal with my messes. I need to change!

      Reply

      • You said that “the next person in line does it.” That’s brilliant. It avoids the, “But, I didn’t leave it out! It’s not mine!” mentality.

  2. Posted by abigailsleftovers on July 7, 2011 at 9:34 am

    Ha! I had to laugh when you said she gave you a confused look, like you had asked her when she takes time to breathe..

    I despise clutter, yet am constantly battling against my disorganized way of putting things away, which, I think, makes eliminating clutter more difficult. When my drawers and cupboards are disorganized it makes it harder to put things in their proper place.

    Thanks for the encouragement Debbie! I feel ready to take on the day!

    Reply

    • You are so right! I feel like I don’t have time to put things away “properly,” so it just goes in the right drawer or cabinet, but after awhile, things don’t FIT in there so well, so it just sits out until I have time (ha, ha!) to organize the space. No more!!! (We’ll see how long this lasts!)

      I’m glad you were encouraged; maybe we can keep on encouraging each other, since I don’t have it mastered, yet!

      Reply

  3. I need to work on this!! I too tend to wait until things get out of control. One thing that helps me with this is to constantly have a “donate box” that I am filling. When there is an easy place to put the clutter I deal with it better.

    Reply

  4. I totally relate! One of my summer goals is organize and declutter each of the rooms that have been so neglected with time spent on schooling. Sometimes its just so overwhelming!

    Reply

    • Well, you’re not alone! I just told my husband that I either feel inspired or completely overwhelmed! There seems to be no middle ground. Oh, to be a born organizer instead of an all-or-nothing kind of person! We CAN improve, though!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

