Fourth of July Traditions – Music, Colors, Recipe

Here are some things we’re doing for the 4th of July this year…

1.  We learned “America the Beautiful” in harmony.  It was a toss-up as to whether or not we should memorize all four verses, or learn the first verse in parts; since I’ve got a music education degree, I opted for teaching my kids to sing it in parts.   Carl can now sing tenor (yay!) if it’s not too low, Daniel and Barrett learned alto, and the three youngest (not including the two-year-old) can hold the melody on their own pretty well.  (If I ever figure it out how to do it, maybe I’ll record them!)

2.     We have a tradition of making our Fourth of July breakfast very RED, WHITE and BLUE.  So we have pancakes with strawberrries and/or blueberries on top with whipped cream FROM A CAN, something I almost never buy!

3.  And this year, we are going to make star-shaped sugar cookies and frost them with red, white and blue frosting.  This was my son Daniel’s idea; I asked him what he wanted to do before the next time I brought him out for hot cocoa, and he said, “Make cookies with you.”

So I got out my old church recipe book (since I couldn’t find my grandma’s recipe), and put together my own recipe based on five “sugar cookie” recipes from the book.  Here is it…

COCONUT OIL SUGAR COOKIES

Cream together the first four ingredients, then the next three, then the rest:

1/2 c. coconut oil
1/2 c. butter (softened)
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. powered sugar
2 eggs
1 t. vanilla
Almond extract – a few drops
4 c. flour
1 t. baking soda
1 t. cream of tartar
A dash of salt (maybe 1/4 teaspoon?)

Roll out, cut out, and bake at 350 degrees for 7 to 10 minutes.

In the middle of making these, we had to refill our flour bucket…

And this is what happens when you accidentally leave it out…

Leave a Reply

