DON’T PANIC!

I got a letter the other day from a friend who’s leaving soon to go to Kenya–for the first time.  (She will teaching at a school there for a year.)  The opening to her letter really captured how I feel every once in a while, even though I’m not preparing to go overseas all by myself and teach!  Here is it…

“In Douglas Adam’s famous series, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is the go-to book for intergalactic survival. One of the reasons it is such a fabulously popular work is that it has the words DON’T PANIC inscribed in large friendly letters on its cover.” After the Earth is destroyed to make way for a hyperspace bypass, Arthur Dent (Adam’s protagonist) successfully, if precariously, navigates a nonsensical universe with no more than his copy of The Guide and a good sturdy towel.

Yes, this discussion of a made-up guide book in a well-known piece of science fiction is interesting, Kristin, but why are you telling us this?

This morning, I woke up, and I felt just like Arthur Dent. It’s been a pattern lately. Wake up. Lie in bed for a few moments. Remember I’m moving to Kenya. Panic. After that, there’s only one way I can get myself out of bed. I have to lean over and grab my Bible from the nightstand. You know, the one that says DON’T PANIC on every single one of its pages.

  • But I will sing of your strength; I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning.
  • For you have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress.
  • O my Strength, I will sing praises to you, for you, O God, are my fortress, the God who shows me steadfast love.
  • (Psalm 59:16-17)”   (Bold mine)

Thank you, Kristin, for encouraging us to NOT hit the panic button, but reach for our Bibles instead! 

If anyone is interested in checking out Kristin’s plans, go here to get to her blog.

Leave a Reply

