Perfect Peace Amidst Anxiety

I read Isaiah 26:3 the other day as part of my Bible reading, and I never fail to forget when I first learned that verse.

My first experience as a camp counselor was when I was only 17 years old.  The camp was desperate for counselors, so when they heard that I had experience with children’s ministry, they hired me for the entire summer, even though I was not technically old enough.  That was my first time away from home for more than a week, and I was homesick before the first day was over; I really thought I had made a big mistake! 

But that evening, for staff devotions, my Division Director shared with us a time in her life when she was really helped by Isaiah 26:3.  It ministered to me immediately and got me through the summer.

      “You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you,because he trusts in you.”  *

That was it, but it was very powerful!  Instead of focusing on the long summer ahead, I tried to “stay my mind” on Christ, trust Him, and think about His “perfect peace.”  It’s a verse I will never forget!

*You can find the Isaiah 26:3-4 song that Scott wrote (along with other inspiring verses) on CD by using the Fighter Verse link to the right.  The song is on the “Set C” CD.

P.S.  Incidentally, being a camp counselor for two summers was one of the best experiences of my life; I often harken back to those days of “simplicity,” where it was hard work (I slept 10 hours a day), but my schedule was laid out for me, I had no distractions (no electricty, even), and my environment was Bible-saturated.  Even now, I try out a “camp schedule” every once in awhile, because it seemed so “perfect”, so simple!  (Biggest problem is, I’m ALL of the staff right now, not just a counselor!)  :0

2 responses to this post.

  1. That’s a good word for me today. Deep breath, repeat Isaiah 26:3.

    I’m thinking through summer schedules and chore assignments today because we really need some structure to our summer days. The camp schedule just might work…alas, we’re still a bit understaffed as well – but it is appealing. Hmmmmmm.

    Reply

    • It is, isn’t it?!! Lack of staff really IS my only problem! (I guess that’s why some people hire a nanny!)

      I like your “Deep breath, repeat Isaiah 26:3!”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

