Even Imperfect Diligence will “Lead to Abundance.”

My prayer journal is a small 3-ring binder to which I can add pages and dividers, and I’ve used it ever since my first child was born. Throughout my journal, but especially in front of the first divider, I have “inspirational” verses or quotes that I copied from the Bible or other devotional books.

Today, I ran across a few verses about diligence, copied into my prayer journal a long time ago. I hope that you find them inspiring, as I did. (And just so you know, I’m not trying to get worldly riches!)  🙂

    • “The hand of the diligent will rule…” (Pr. 12:24)
    • “…the hand of the diligent makes rich.” (Pr. 10:4)
    • “…the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.” (Pr. 13:4)
    • “The plans of the diligent lead surely to abundance…” (Pr. 21:5)

I like that God’s Word does not say that the hand or soul or plans of “the successful” will rule or have abundance! All I need to do is, by God’s grace, keep on doing what I know God has called me to do, even when progress seems to come very slowly or even falters!

For example, when my oldest was two years old, I started working on catechisms with him at breakfast. We learned approximately one new catechism a week. Now that all of us are much farther in the book, it sometimes takes two weeks to really learn a new catechism. 

But I  have gone through phases when I’ve thought, Why do I keep doing this? This is so time consuming, and my kids don’t even enjoy it—they just put up with it! And what good is it doing them, anyway? I have actually taken a break a few times for a week or a month. But something made me keep going back, and now, 11 years later, diligence has made it possible for my kids to learn a lot of catechisms! And just for the fun of it,  I said one day, “Tell me the answer in your own words,” and we had the BEST conversation about justification and sanctification! My purpose is not to say that everyone should be learning catechisms, but rather to show how even imperfect diligence in something worthwhile will “lead to abundance.”

Leave a Reply

