“Healthy” Homemade Rootbeer Recipe (really simple!)

 Since our family has an unwritten rule that we don’t buy pop (we only drink it when it’s free), we started experimenting a few months ago with making our own rootbeer.  Since we’re going to make rootbeer this weekend, I thought I would share how we make it without refined sugar (serves 6) . . .

  • 3/4 cup cold maple syrup (pure)
  • 3/4 cup cold water
  • 1 1/2 t. rootbeer concentrate
  • Before serving, add 1 bottle (1 liter) cold club soda

It tastes even better in rootbeer floats (if you’re picky about the taste of your rootbeer), and you can keep it “healthy” by using homemade ice cream!  (Recipe coming later.)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Have you tried it with honey? I’m wondering, since some members of our family can’t have maple syrup.

    Reply

    • We haven’t tried rootbeer with honey, but we’ve tried lemonade with honey, and it had very strong honey taste. You could try it, though…the rootbeer is a strong flavor, too. Llet me know how it turns out if you do! (I haven’t heard of an allergy to pure maple syrup!)

      Reply

      • Thanks, I hope to give the honey a try. I love maple syrup, but the last few years I have had terrible trouble with allergy to spring tree pollens. Maple syrup seems to make it worse…which would make sense if I am allergic to maple trees. I’ll be having some allergy testing done, to determine the exact allergens, but for now we are avoiding maple syrup.

      • Wow; I’ve never heard of that, but it makes sense!

  2. Posted by bonnie on February 18, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    I was wondering about Agave syrup. would that work?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

