“Don’t be discouraged by the size of the task . . . “

After my fifth child was born (and my oldest was 5 years old!), I was feeling a bit overwhelmed.  One Sunday during this time, our (then) church bulletin had the following verse written on it, and I immediately copied it into my prayer notebook.  (I took out the seven words pertaining to the Temple).  It’s still there, eight years later. 

“Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Don’t be afraid or discouraged by the size of the task, for the LORD God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. He will see to it that all the work . . . is finished correctly.”  I Chronicles 28:20. 

I thought, if God helped Solomon build a temple, He will help me “build” a family!  I like that it doesn’t just say, “Be strong and courageous;” it also says, “do the work.”  I also loved the phrase “the size of the task” because five little ones (ages 5, 4, 2, 13 months and newborn) who were not really helping around the house independently seemed like a HUGE task!  And I was even supposed to be homeschooling my oldest!  Ha!  (He’s doing fine now; no worries!)

Now I can look back and say, the LORD God got me through that; He can get me through anything!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you for writing and sharing encouragement! It is a joy to read and be refreshed by Truth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

