Morning Prayer – Cheerful Surrender

“There is no comfort in anything apart from enjoying thee and being engaged in thy service . . . I rejoice to think that all things are at thy disposal, and it delights me to leave them there . . . I can of myself do nothing to glorify thy blessed name, but I can through grace cheerfully surrender soul and body to thee . . . I know…that thy sole motive in working in me to will and to do is for thy good pleasure . . .”

My paraphrase: 

LORD, I am not truly happy unless I am doing your will; thank you that you have already ordered my day, and help me to rejoice in it instead of gripe.  Grant me the grace to surrender myself to whatever You have planned for me today, for I want to live for Your glory.

From The Valley of Vision (p. 4 in my book)

Leave a Reply

