Why I Almost Entitled This Blog, “I Feel Like a Complete Failure”

 . . . because I often feel like a big loser—like today.  More often than not, I feel like I’m a terrible wife and mother, and that everyone –especially my friends are doing a MUCH better job than I am!  (For instance, I just remembered that I turned my iron on more than 2 ½ hours ago!  And I never even ironed!)  I can’t tell you how many times I have told my husband, “I am such a failure!”  (Just what he wants to hear, I’m sure.)  That’s one reason I put off starting a blog for so long; I thought, Who wants to hear from a complete failure?

But then I got to thinking that it’s probably because I am comparing myself to the BEST things that all my friends (or bloggers) are doing.  We mostly talk (and blog) about what’s going WELL, right?  THEN I got to thinking, Maybe other moms feel the same way!  I could encourage them by telling them we’re all “failures” together! 

So here’s my encouragement:  “Failures” who are diligently plodding along toward an eternal prize (and bring others along with them) are actually doing an enormous amount of good (probably).  I love this verse: 

“Whoever abides in ME [Christ] and I in him bears MUCH FRUIT, for apart from me you can do NOTHING.”  (John 15:5b)

So I decided that I’m not a COMPLETE failure; I’m just trying to bear fruit (not by myself!) in areas that aren’t always immediately noticeable.  (But apart from Christ, I really can’t do anything of lasting value.)

4 responses to this post.

  1. I hope messed up dads are allowed to read along too. I’ll skip the “ladies only” posts.

    Reply

  2. I’m so glad you started blogging! I am enjoying these posts so far, especially this one. I often feel this way, too, (especially lately with adding another kiddo to the household), and it is good to know that I am not the only one, and that God is using these days for His good. Thanks for the encouragement!

    Reply

    • I’m so glad you like it! I had a feeling I wasn’t the only one who felt like a failure every once in awhile (or all the time when I had younger kids!), so I’m going to try to post things that have encouraged me along the way! And congratulations on your new little one!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

