Tending to Things Temporal with a Mind on Things Eternal

 

“Teach me the happy art of attending to things temporal with a mind intent on things eternal.” 

 This is where I got the subtitle for this blog, and it’s from The Valley of Vision prayer book, which is probably my favorite book, after the Bible. (When I travel, I bring my Bible and this book.)   Almost every prayer has at least a phrase (if not more) that convicts, inspires, or motivates me, so I copy that phrase into my journal and then paraphrase it or comment on it.  Here’s why I like the above quote . . .

My life is very ordinary and filled with things that keep me busy, and these things don’t always seem to be terribly interesting or exciting or even noticeable.  But the above quote reminds me that even though my temporal tasks may seem short-lived and not very exciting, I can be content and HAPPY and even fulfilled doing these temporal tasks because I am doing them to EFFECT ETERNITY for myself and the people around me.  Wow. 

So my goal is to focus on what lies ahead in eternity WHILE meeting my family’s temporal needs by being “diligent [in order] to be found by [God] without spot or blemish, and at peace.”  (2 Pt. 3:24)  And happily, I am never bored!

“So we do not lose heart . . . this slight momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen . . . “  2 Co. 4:16-18a.

2 responses to this post.

  1. That is a wonderful quote and your insights related to it are very helpful. Thank you!

    Reply

  2. Exactly. Amen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

